On May 31, the Central Epidemic Command Center announced that in response to the recent occurrence of indigenous COVID-19 cases and given related assessment, it will grant five subordinate airports of the Ministry of Transportation and Communications (MOTC), i.e. Taipei Songshan, Taichung, Chiayi, Tainan and Kaohsiung Siaogang airports, permission to set up screening stations in order to contain the spread of COVID-19 and safeguard disease prevention efforts on aircraft. Travelers who wish to take domestic flights to outlying islands should fill out the health declaration before boarding; those who show symptoms on site must not board their flight and must cooperate with RT-PCR testing. Furthermore, travelers who have experienced symptoms in the past 14 days are required to undergo a rapid antigen test on site and are allowed to board their flight after they have a negative test result. Those who have a positive antigen test result will take a quarantine taxi arranged by the airport to a quarantine hotel or group quarantine facility designated the health unit.